Executive Committee

ALL Press, media, and public comment requests must be fulfilled by President Kiana M. Sears. No one else is authorized to speak on behalf of the Branch. Please send requests for public through the Contact page, or by emailing [email protected].

Structure of the Association. The management and governance of NAACP units are vested in the National NAACP's Board of Directors. The day-to-day operations of units is managed by each unit's Executive Committee, which consists of elected officers, elected at-large committee members, and appointed committee chairs. In alignment with the NAACP strategic plan, the Executive Committee focuses on the NAACP's legislative priorities to determine the branch's advocacy agenda and planning strategies.

Democratic Elections. In November 2022, the General Membership elected officers to serve two-year terms of office which began on January 1, 2023. Ms. Kiana Maria Sears was re-elected to serve as president of the NAACP East Valley branch.


Vice President: Jevin Hodge

Assistant Secretary: Crystal Smitherman

Finance Committee Chair: Angela Copeland

Fundraising Interim Committee Chair: Timothy Bradley

Legal Redress Committee Chair: William Smitherman, Sr.

Outreach Committee Chair: Michelle L. Rose

Previous Presidents:

2021 - Present: Ms. Kiana M. Sears

2017 - 2020: Mr. Roy Tatem, Jr.


The NAACP is a worldwide network of more than 2,200 units. Established on February 12, 1909, by a multiracial, multigender group of progressive thinkers, the NAACP is the nation's oldest, strongest, and largest civil rights organization in the United States. With more than a million members worldwide, the NAACP has established itself as the premier civil rights organization in the United States. Our branch has served the East Valley as a champion of social justice for more than 60 years.

The vision of the NAACP is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights and to eradicate racial hatred or racial discrimination. The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination

“The humanity of all Americans is diminished when any group is denied rights granted to others.”

- Julian Bond, former Chairman Emeritus of the NAACP